The Untick Me Hoax

Facebook Unfollow MeThe hoax text will vary but will be based on something along the lines of:

“FACEBOOK HAS CHANGED THEIR PRIVACY SETTINGS ONCE MORE!!! DUE TO THE NEW “GRAPH APP” ANYONE ON FACEBOOK (INCLUDING OTHER COUNTRIES) CAN SEE YOUR PICTURES, LIKES, AND COMMENTS. The next 2 weeks I will be posting this, and please once you have done it please post DONE! Those of you who do not keep my information from going out to the public, I will have to DELETE YOU! I want to stay PRIVATELY connected with you. I post shots of my family that I don’t want strangers to have access to!!! This happens when our friends click “like” or “comment”… automatically, their friends would see our posts too. Unfortunately, we cannot change this setting by ourselves because Facebook has configured it that way. PLEASE place your mouse over my name above (DO NOT CLICK), a window will appear, now move the mouse on “FRIENDS” (also without clicking), then down to “Settings”, click here and a list will appear. REMOVE the CHECK on “LIFE EVENTS” and “COMMENTS & LIKES”. By doing this, my activity among my friends and family will no longer become public. Now, copy and paste this on your wall. Once I see this posted on your page, I will do the same”

This has been circulating in one form or another since 2011.  Graph App doesn’t change your privacy settings.  The visibility of your posts is defined by the privacy settings you set either each time you post something or as you set in the privacy section of your settings.

The easiest way to check whether it is a hoax or not is by READING IT and paying attention to what you’re doing.  It even tells you that you’re not going to see Likes & Comments from that particular person.  If you don’t want your friends seeing your Likes & Comments then go ahead and repost it on your own page, but that’s kind of against the idea of using Facebook and liking and commenting on statuses.

NB – When you get tagged in a photo then privacy change – the visibility of the photo/status you’re tagged in will be set by the person who posted the photo.  However, the above hoax advice won’t change anything.  In this case the only way is to un-tag yourself from each photo.

More Hoaxes

Posted in Hoaxes